Information literacy - research skills

 

Find out how information literacy can help you with conducting research. This research skills page includes links to useful tutorials on writing a literature review, searching databases and organising references.

StarPlus for all: basics and more

StarPlus, the Library catalogue, can be accessed from your MUSE account (under My services) or from the Library webpages at: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library.

Remember to click on the University members link at the top of StarPlus if you are accessing it from the Library webpages (when you access StarPlus from MUSE, you will be automatically signed on to the catalogue). Signing on to StarPlus will give you full access to resources and features including the e-Shelf and your online Library account.

Search under the University Collections tab to find: books, ebooks, journals, databases, theses and multimedia.  Enter keywords into the search box then refine your results later.

Use the Articles and More tab to search for journal articles from databases.  All results shown will be available for you to access. However, you can also choose to include results without full text online access.

 

 

Top tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for a phrase, e.g. “global warming”.
• Use an asterisk at the end of a word to represent alternative endings. For example, educat* will search for: education, educating, educational etc.
• Use the e-Shelf to organise, print, email and push your search results into reference management software. Add search results to your e-Shelf by clicking on the star icon (located on the left of each search result).
• To request a book that is out on loan, click on the Get It tab and then the Request link (requested items are now being issued until after the Easter Vacation: Easter Vacation Loan Periods).
• Look at the Subject Guides to identify the key databases and online resources for your subject area. Link to the Subject Guides from the home page of StarPlus.
• Search for and connect to databases from the University Collections tab.

 

Take a look at our StarPlus tutorial to learn more.

Finding and searching databases

Databases index information about published journal articles, conference papers and other academic documents. Find databases that are useful for your subject on our Subject Guides.

If you know the database you want to use, search for the name of the database on the University Collections tab in StarPlus, click ‘View Online’, ‘Open source in a new window’ and then ‘Connect to...’  under the Quick links on the right-hand side.

It is worth spending time thinking about your search before you start- list relevant keywords and search terms and any alternatives. For example, if you are searching for global warming, you will also want to search for climate change and greenhouse effect. Consider different spellings such as colour/color, and any technical terms or abbreviations.

If you are searching for a phrase, use quotation marks to keep the words together, e.g. “global warming”, “old testament”.

An asterisk can be used to end a word in a variety of ways, for example, ethic* will find results that include ethic, ethics, ethically, ethical.

Our Successful Database Searching tutorial will help you plan your search further.

International Historical Statistics

International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010, is the current online edition of this authoritative reference source, providing key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years. This 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. 

You can access the resource through StarPlus or by clicking the above link

StarPlus for all: basics and more

StarPlus, the Library catalogue, can be accessed from your MUSE account (under My services) or from the Library webpages at: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library.

Remember to sign in by clicking on the University members link at the top of the page. This will give you full access to resources and features including the e-Shelf and your online Library account.

Search under the University Collections tab to find: books, ebooks, journals, theses and multimedia.  Enter keywords into the search box then refine your results later.

Use the Articles and More tab to search for journal articles from databases.  All results shown will be available for you to access. However, you can also choose to include results without full text online access.

Top tips

• Use quotation marks when searching for a phrase, e.g. “global warming”.
• Use an asterisk at the end of a word to represent alternative endings.  For example, educat* will search for: education, educating, educational etc.
• Use the e-Shelf to organise, print, email and push your search results into reference management software. Add search results to your e-Shelf by clicking on the star icon (located on the left of each search result).
• To request a book that is out on loan, click on the Get It tab and then click Request (top left of window).
• Look at the Subject Guides to identify the key databases and online resources for your subject area. Link to the Subject Guides from the home page of StarPlus.
• Search for and connect to databases from the University Collections tab.
• Take a look at our StarPlus tutorial to learn more.

Searching for your research project

Need to search for literature for a research project?

Start with a search for books on the StarPlus University Collections tab.

Then move onto searching for journal articles. The Articles and More tab in StarPlus defaults to search Primo Central- a general, multidisciplinary database. This will give you quick, quality results. Make sure you have signed into StarPlus by clicking University members at the top of the page.

For a more specific search, use databases. Find the databases useful to you on your Subject Guide: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/subjects/subjects. Subject Guides also give links to other relevant information sources.

Search tips: Make sure you think about your keywords and any alternative words or spellings that could be used. Learn more about constructing your search here: https://librarydevelopment.group.shef.ac.uk/shef-only/info_skills/successful_db.html

Use the Find It buttons in databases to check access (Print and electronic) to articles of interest.

Literature online (LION)

The new Literature Online is now available, featuring all the existing content with a modern search interface.

Literature Online contains literary texts, full-text journals, author biographies and critical and reference resources. Content is updated regularly. The University of Sheffield's subscription covers the Core Collection and the African Writers Series.

Please note: if you used My Archive in the legacy version of Literature Online, you will need to create a new My Archive account in the new version as this feature has not migrated. You will lose the contents of your My Archive account when the legacy version is switched off if you have not created a new account. The legacy version of Literature Online is still available for the time being.

Searching for your research project

Need to search for literature for a research project?

Start with a search for books on the StarPlus University Collections tab. 
Then move onto searching for journal articles. The Articles and Databases tab in StarPlus defaults to search Primo Central- a general, multidisciplinary database. This will give you quick, quality results. Make sure you have signed into StarPlus by clicking ‘University members’ at the top of the page. 

For a more specific search, use databases. Find the databases useful to you on your Subject Guide: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/subjects/subjects. Subject Guides also give links to other relevant information sources. 

Search tips: Make sure you think about your keywords and any alternative words or spellings that could be used. Learn more about constructing your search here:https://librarydevelopment.group.shef.ac.uk/shef-only/info_skills/successful_db.html

Use the ‘Find it’ buttons in databases to check access (Print and electronic) to articles of interest. 

Environment Digimap

The library has subscribed to a free trial of Environment Digimap that runs until July 2014. This new Digimap collection offers land cover map data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Access and information on the resource can be found here
  
 http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/cdfiles/digimap

You will need to register for Environment Digimap on the Digimap website even if you have already registered for the other collections.

Online training for Web of Science

For an introduction to the new Web of Science interface, have a look at their Youtube training channel, where you'll find videos demonstrating how to get the most out of the new features.

Thompson Reuters also offer a range of live webinars and online training via their support pages.

Scopus now indexed in Primo Central

Records from Scopus are now included in your Primo Central searches via StarPlus. Primo Central is the default search in the ‘Articles and Databases’ tab in StarPlus.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature which offers a comprehensive overview of international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Searching for your research project

Need to search for literature for a research project?

Start with a search for books on the StarPlus University Collections tab.

Then move onto searching for journal articles. The Articles and Databases tab in StarPlus defaults to search Primo Central- a general, multidisciplinary database. This will give you quick, quality results. Make sure you have signed into StarPlus by clicking ‘University members’ at the top of the page.

For a more specific search, use databases. Find the databases useful to you on your Subject Guide: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/subjects/subjects. Subject Guides also give links to other relevant information sources.

Search tips: Make sure you think about your keywords and any alternative words or spellings that could be used. Learn more about constructing your search here: https://librarydevelopment.group.shef.ac.uk/shef-only/info_skills/successful_db.html

Use the ‘Find it’ buttons in databases to check access (Print and electronic) to articles of interest.

Trial to Drama Online

The library currently has a trial subscription to Drama Online

Bloomsbury Publishing have already uploaded over 700 titles to this database and they will be adding more content during this trial period.

• Discover - browse works by playwright or practitioner, genre and period
• Read - view texts in the Drama Online Reader
• Study - with a personal account, bookmarks and notes can be saved
  
• Perform - view information on cast size, gender of roles and performance rights
  

Access

This trial will end on 29 December 2013.

There is access to the full-text plays without having to login here. However, Bloomsbury recommend that by signing up for free personal accounts, end users will then be allowed to make use of the personalisation tools on the site.

Please tell us what you think of this database by using our feedback form.

Spotlight on Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is a new resource for global business literature and data, such as country and industry reports. It also provides company profiles, which will be useful for any student preparing for job applications or interviews.

The database has text to speech functionality (in English) for documents in html format. The search interface can be translated into a number of different languages, and articles in html format can also be translated.
If you create a personalised account within the database, you can organise your search results in folders and add notes to documents that you save. You can also save searches, create alerts and RSS feeds.
Apps for iPhone and Android devices are available.This database will be of interest to students and researchers in a range of disciplines across the University. To get access, open StarPlus from the library tab in MUSE and click the Log in link in the top right corner. Type Business Source Premier into the University Collections search box.

Web of Knowledge Mobile Access

Web of Knowledge have recently brought out a new mobile version of their database so now you can search for articles on the go. The mobile interface contains many of the same features; so there's all the advanced search options, you can set alerts, view your search history and send references to endnoteweb.

To get started all you need to do is go to http://m.webofknowledge.com/ from your phone and log in with your personal WoK username and password.

 If you haven't created a WoK account before just follow the steps below;

 From a normal PC log into MUSE and go to Web of Knowledge from the library tab.

1. Once in Web of Knowledge click on 'sign in'.


2. Then click 'register' to create a new account (when registering it's best to use your @sheffield email address).

You can now use your new password for the mobile interface as well as accessing all the database's advanced features. All you need to remember is to log into your new account at least every 6 months from an IP authenticated computer to ensure your account stays active.

 

 

 

For more information or trouble-shooting see the WoK webpages below;

http://wokinfo.com/about/mobile/

http://wokinfo.com/media/pdf/wok-mobile-faqs.pdf

RILM - enhancements for Music searches

EBSCOhost the provider of RILM Abstracts of Music literature have updated their site to  make subject indexing searchable within four areas: Names Subjects Instrument Families Countries Try it out. If you need help check out the EBSCO Support site

NEW Library catalogue!

Have a look at our new Library Catalogue, StarPlus.
You can search for books and other items in our libraries, as well as electronic and digital material, all from one place.

Log in using your University login and password for direct access to full text where it is available and other features such as saved searches.

Use the ‘University Collections’ tab for electronic and print books, journals, maps, theses, databases and more.
Use the ‘Articles and more’ tab for journal articles from multiple databases using the Quick Set for your department.
For full database functionality such as personalisation, use the native search interface.

So check it out and tell us what you think. We’d love your feedback to help us develop the service so please email lib-primo@lists.shef.ac.uk with your comments. And don’t worry, Star won’t be going anywhere just yet.

RILM - Music Database

RILM is a key database that will allow you to search for music literature by topic. Using keywords you can browse abstracts that cover all areas of music including:

• historical musicology


• ethnomusicology


• instruments and voice


• librarianship


• performance practice and notation


• theory and analysis


• pedagogy


• liturgy


• dance


• criticism and music therapy

RILM is available to view via the Library tab in MUSE. Under 'Library eResources' click the link  'Access the Library's subject databases' and use the A-Z table to search for RILM.

You may also want to look at RIPM - Retrospective Index Music Periodical. We currently have trial access to this index which provides access to Eighteenth, Nineteenth and Twentieth century music literature.

This trial will be available to registered staff and students of the University of Sheffield until 4th March and we would welcome your feedback. Follow the link above and click on the 'Access arrangements' link in the Quick links box for further details. You may be prompted to log into MUSE.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy Collection

Hello,

Did you know that for the 2010-2011 Academic Year I have subscribed to the Oxford Scholarship Online PHILOSOPHY collection of Ebooks? It includes over 700 titles published by Oxford University Press in the following collections:

Aesthetics, Ancient Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, General, History of Philosophy, Logic/Philosophy of Mathematics, Metaphysics/Epistemology, Moral Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Science, Political Philosophy

Please have a look - as well as going straight to the Philosophy collection as a database you should find individual titles as ebooks on Star. Here is the link:

http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/cdfiles/oxfscholar.html

Click the CONNECT button and login to MUSE.

If you find it useful (or indeed if you don't) please send in your feedback. You can email me c.scott@sheffield.ac.uk (Faculty Librarian) with  your views or Yonatan Shemmer y.shemmer@sheffield.ac.uk (Departmental Library Coordinator). We would be pleased to know what you think so we can decide whether or not to continue with this service next year.

We look forward to hearing from you, Clare

Early American Imprints

Hello Everyone,

 Hope you are all settling into the semester and your new modules and getting used to things. The Library has recently started a new subscription to Early American Imprints. It is a definitive resource for researching every day  aspects of 17th and 18th century America. Early American Imprints series 1 is based on Charles Evans' "American Bibliography" and Roger Bristol's supplement. This incomparable digital collection contains over 36000 printed works including virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in American over 160 years. This collection can be seen as a complement to ECCO Eighteenth Century Collections Online because ECCO is focused on British and European titles. Other publications included in the collection are advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogues, charters, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues etc. Please do go and have a look at this resource. I hope it will help some or all of  you with your studies. It is available at: http://www.shef.ac.uk/library/cdfiles/eai.html